Uncategorized

Vagina is not a bad word

Remarkable writing👏👏

Girls' Globe

Yes, I said it. Vagina.

People often think vagina is a bad word. It is not. Half of the world have vaginas, and the other half have penises. I cannot understand why we avoid talking about vaginas. When I am spending time with friends and I mention the word vagina they say, “June, stop! People can hear us!” It puzzles me how people can not deal with saying ‘vagina’. Ok, maybe I’ve said the word vagina too many times, but you get the point.

When I talk about Female Genital Mutilation (FGM), I often begin by saying that we are going to have a conversation about vaginas, fannies and muffs. FGM is the partial or total removal of a woman’s genitals for non-medical reasons and has life-long consequences on women and girls. FGM breaches at least 5 human rights of women and girls, and takes away a woman’s right to…

View original post 671 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

